Return to CUA Home Return to Libraries Home Library photos
Research Tools Library Services Research Guides About the Libraries
 Home > > Research Guides >> ALADIN Databases Search libraries.cua.edu

ALADIN Databases

The ALADIN Databases

ALADIN is the name for the online databases available to CUA patrons through the Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC).

The Library Catalogs show the collections of the WRLC libraries, including CUA. Use the WRLC Libraries Catalog to search for books, journals, and other materials that are available in the libraries. More information about the collections at George Mason University and Trinity College is available through their separate catalogs.

The Article and Other Databases are produced by companies, scholarly societies, or government agencies outside CUA. These databases cover the major publications in particular subject areas, so that researchers can find out what has been published. Some of these databases include the full text of the articles. Remote access to the article databases is available to users with valid, updated library privileges.

Go to top Return to Top of This Page


Finding the Right Databases

Using the right tools is a key part of doing effective research. You need to search the appropriate databases to find the best material in your subject. There are a number of ways to get information about the ALADIN databases.

Use the Alphabetical List
This will show you all of the databases available in ALADIN. If you're looking for a specific database, you'll find it here. Most of the databases have clear names that should give you an idea of whether or not you'll be interested by them. For more information, you can click the  (Description) icon for a brief description of the database.

Use the Subject Lists
These will show you the most relevant databases in a general subject area. At CUA, we have lists of multidisciplinary databases, and databases in the arts, humanities, and religion, business and economics, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering, and social sciences. Some databases are useful for more than one category.

Read the Online Help
Once you have chosen a database, look for Help or Information screens. These provide more detailed information about what the database covers and the best way to search it.

Contact the Library
Contact Reference & Instructional Services (first floor of Mullen Library; 202-319-5070) if you have questions about ALADIN. You can also contact the librarian for your subject area if you have a question about using a specialized database.

Go to top Return to Top of This Page


URL: http://libraries.cua.edu/instruct/databases.html Send questions and comments MODIFIED: November-12-2007